The AICUO, Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Ohio, Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts (EVAs) competition was hosted by Denison University this year. Nominees and faculty members from all over Ohio, including Denison’s President Dale T. Knobel and Provost Bradley Bateman, came together last Thursday, April 3 to view artwork and learn about the finalists’ academic careers.

The evening began with a student panel discussion facilitated by Ronald Abram, Denison’s printmaking professor in the Studio Arts Department. The six finalists, including Denison’s own senior Chelsea Flowers, answered questions about their experiences, artistic interests, and progression as both a student and an artist.

The Award Reception preceded as C. Todd Jones the President of the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities presented the awards and gifts to the finalists. Meg Leatherman from Bluffton University was the Sculpture Design Contest Winner, while Flowers walked away with the People’s Choice Award for the 2013 EVAs. The Grand Award for the 2013 EVAs was presented to Matthew Gallagher from Oberlin College.

“I appreciate everyone who voted,” said Flowers, who will be the first African American to graduate with a Bachelor of Fine Arts, from Denison University.

The six finalists will have the chance to present their work in Short North District galleries in Columbus, Ohio, during the May Gallery Hop.